The Graduate Research Steering Committee is tasked with reviewing applications from graduate students, and in some cases postdoctoral fellows, on internal competitions and external submissions requiring institutional nomination or endorsement. The committee also may be called upon to set, review or amend existing research funding policies set by the Graduate School or other graduate or postdoctoral fellow research issues that may arise.


Each committee member serves a two-year term of service (unless otherwise noted) and is approved by the Dean of the Graduate School.

The 2020-21 members of the Graduate School’s Graduate Research Steering Committee are:

  • Peter Armbruster, Davis Family Distinguished Professor, Biology*
  • Rachel Barr, Professor, Psychology+
  • Molly Borowitz, Assistant Professor, Spanish & Portuguese*
  • Katherine Conant, Associate Professor, Neuroscience*
  • Mary Helen Dupree, Associate Professor, German+
  • Matthias Eller, Professor, Mathematics and Statistics+
  • Christine Fair, Provost’s Distinguished Associate Professor, SFS (Security Studies)*
  • Ella Heitzler, Assistant Professor, NHS*
  • Shareen Joshi, Associate Professor, SFS (Global Human Development)+
  • Micha Koliska, Assistant Professor, CCT*
  • Lakshmi Krishnan, Assistant Professor, Medicine/English+
  • Kristen Looney, Assistant Professor, SFS (Asian Studies)/Government+
  • Bevan Main, Research Assistant Professor, Neuroscience*
  • Dayanand Manoli, Visiting Associate Professor, McCourt+
  • Caleb McKinney, Assistant Professor, Rehabilitation Medicine+
  • John McNeill, University Professor, History/SFS+
  • Toshihiko Mukoyama, Professor, Economics+
  • Seth Perlow, Associate Teaching Professor, English+
  • Carol Rogers, Associate Professor, Economics*
  • Adam Rothman, Professor, History*
  • Ayesha Shajahan-Haq, Assistant Professor, Department of Oncology+
  • Erin Sorrell, Assistant Professor, Microbiology and Immunology+
  • Claire Standley, Assistant Professor, Microbiology and Immunology+
  • Ella Striem-Amit, Assistant Professor, Neuroscience+
  • Kathryn Temple, Professor, English*
  • Michelle Wang, Associate Professor, Art & Art History*

+ a new member, 2020-21 / *continuing member

If you have questions regarding the GSRC or wish to be considered for membership, please contact Katie Li.